Aggie Graduation Mark

Texas A&M University Galveston
Commencement Information

(Updated 11/23/2020)

It is with great regret and disappointment that we announce that our December Commencement ceremonies scheduled to be in-person on Friday and Saturday, Dec. 11 and 12 on the Galveston Campus will be switching to a virtual celebration online on Saturday, Dec. 12 at 9 a.m.

This decision was made in the best interest of the health and safety of our students and their loved ones, our faculty and our staff. Several circumstances contributed to this decision: the significant rise in state and national cases, our geographical location, limited facilities and timing of the holiday season.

For May and August graduates who planned to participate, we unfortunately must delay coming together. We will reach back out to you next year as circumstances allow us to celebrate in-person.

For our December graduates, we ask that you visit [link] to submit a quote and photo for inclusion in our virtual ceremony. The ceremony will be livestreamed on Facebook (@AggiesByTheSea) on Dec. 12 at 9 a.m. and available on YouTube following the conclusion of the livestream.


  • December Graduates: Please check your email for the graduation survey to submit your information, quote and photo for inclusion in the virtual ceremony. Please note this is an opt-out ceremony.

  • All Fall 2020 degree candidates must apply for graduation in the Howdy Portal at

  • The Texas A&M University at Galveston Bookstore has established procedures for those students who wish to return their caps and gowns, announcements, and any other graduation accessories purchased from the bookstore for a refund.

    • Please contact Jennifer Connor at (409) 740.4438 for information on return arrangements and procedures. She will also be able to provide return instructions and explain how refunds will be processed. Jennifer is available Mon-Fri 8 a.m.-5 p.m., exclusive of holiday closings for Thanksgiving. Please note the bookstore will close Wednesday, Nov. 25 at 11:30 a.m. for the Thanksgiving holiday and will reopen on Mon., Nov. 30th at 8 a.m.

    • Items may be returned in-person or by mail. Please contact Jennifer Connor at (409) 740.4438 Mon-Fri., 8 a.m. t o 5 p.m., exclusive of holiday closing for Thanksgiving for more information.

    • Please note that only full sets of purchased items will be accepted for refunds. For example, an ordered set of 25 announcements will only qualify for a refund if all 25 are returned. This applies to all other graduation items including tissue inserts, envelopes, thank you cards and address labels.

The TAMU Office of the Registrar will mail diplomas directly to the December graduates after they have cleared in January 2021. Please email with questions.


Virtual Commencement Ceremonies

Honoring Our August 2020 Graduates

Candidates for Doctoral Degrees




Candidates for Master's Degrees





Candidates for Baccalaureate Degrees





















Ceremonial Symbols

Academic Regalia

Throughout the world, academic institutions have created a wide variety of customs as they have attempted to indicate the accomplishments of scholars, through distinctive dress, color and ceremony. American academic regalia have developed from English traditions, which originated at Oxford and Cambridge, and have been in continual use in this country since colonial times. By the twentieth century, institutions of higher learning in the United States had adopted a well-defined system of academic costume which now includes the identification of the different academic degrees by distinctive gowns, hoods and colors.


The gonfalon, a flag that hangs from a crosspiece or frame, originated in the medieval republics of Italy as an ensign of state or office. Gonfalons have been adopted by many universities around the world as college or institutional insignias.

The gonfalon of Texas A&M University Galveston Campus and the eleven colleges of Texas A&M University all have similar maroon and white patterns. The white field common to all gonfalons serves as a background for the symbol of each college. The symbol of Texas A&M University Galveston Campus is the spiral pattern of the chambered nautilus shell which conforms to the mathematical formula derived from the Fibonacci series of numbers. The blue vertical bands behind it give stability to the vast open waters of the sea.

The Mace

The University mace, carried in ceremonial procession, symbolizes the rich history or Texas A&M University Galveston Campus. The head or the mace is made of Texas mesquite: inlaid on its front is a bronze University seal. A piece of teak from the original Texas Clipper (symbolizing maritime activities) and a piece of whale tooth ivory (symbolizing scientific research and teaching activities) are inlaid on the back of the mace. The foot and coupling between the staff and head are fashioned out of brass taken from the Texas Clipper II. As a coin is traditionally put under the step (bottom) of a mast, a 1962 penny is stepped in the brass foot to commemorate the year of the school's birth as the Texas A&M Maritime Academy. In the hollow center of the brass coupling between the staff and head is a small cavity, containing historical artifacts: a 1971 penny, symbolizing the year the school expanded beyond maritime subjects; a piece of Fort Crockett, the first Galveston building used by the school; and a piece of Kirkham Hall, the first building on the Mitchell Campus.

It was presented to the University in 2006 by Steven Conway, then Director of Information Services, who turned and finished the mesquite and assembled the mace. Trenton Thornton '86 milled the brass for the foot and coupling. Dr. Stephen Curley, Regents Professor, Department of Liberal Studies, suggested historical items to include in the construction.