Regents Professors

Regents Professor Award

The A&M System Board of Regents established the Regents Professor Award program in 1996.  The purpose of this Award is to recognize and honor individuals at the rank of professor or equivalent who have provided exemplary service as faculty members not only to their university, agency or health science center component, but also to the community, the State of Texas, and/or at the international level.  This award is specifically for faculty within the nine A&M System institutions (including Galveston campus), the System Health Science Center, and the Agricultural and Engineering Programs.

Selection Process

Regents Professor and Regents Fellow nominations are solicited every year.  A Call for Nominationsis issued by the Chancellor each February, for the current fiscal year, to all System Chief Executive Officers (CEO).  The CEOs initiate an internal nomination process within their respective organizations.  The CEO then forwards the nominations to the Chancellor through the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Office by late June/ early July of the current year. System components are not required to submit nominations for the Regents Awards each year.

Two System level committees review all Regents Award nominations for eligibility requirements. Upon completion of the System review, and concurrence by the Chancellor, nominee recommendations are forwarded to the Board of Regents and formal action is requested to grant the designation of Regents Professor or Regents Fellow.  Action by the Board most often occurs at the December Board meeting.

Regents Professors Nomination Form & Guidelines

Regents Professor Timeline

Regents Professors Recognition

Dr. William J. Merrell, Marine Sciences, 2017

Dr. Samuel David Brody, Marine Sciences, 2016

Dr. Douglas J. Klein, Marine Sciences, 2015

Dr. Jay R. Rooker, Marine Biology, 2014

Dr. John R. Schwarz, Marine Biology, 2012

Dr. Wyndylyn M. von Zharen, Marine Sciences, 2011

Dr. Randall W. Davis, Marine Biology, 2010

Dr. Peter H. Santschi, Marine Sciences, 2009

Dr. Vijaykumar G. Panchang, Maritime System Engineering, 2008

Dr. Gilbert T. Rowe, Marine Biology, 2007

Dr. Bernd G. Würsig, Marine Biology, 2006

Dr. William A. Seitz, Marine Sciences, 2005

Dr. Stephen J. Curley, General Academics, 2004