Sam Brody of Texas A&M Galveston Receives Distinguish Recognition    

Samuel D. BrodySamuel D. Brody, professor of Marine Sciences at Texas A&M University at Galveston has been named one of the 2016-2017 Regents Professors by The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents.  Dr. Brody is holder of the George P. Mitchell '40 Chair in Sustainable Coasts, director of Center for Texas Beaches and Shores, co-director of the Institute for Sustainable Coastal Communities and is a professor in the Department of Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning at Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas.

Established in 1996, the Regents Professor Award is bestowed annually by the Board of Regents in recognition of awardees' exemplary contributions to their university or agency and to the people of Texas.  Award recipients are designated as Regents Professors for the duration of their service or employment within the A&M System.

They are provided a stipend over three consecutive years and receive a special medallion bearing the seal of the A&M System and a certificate signed by the Chairman of the Board of Regents and the Chancellor.

"The newest Regents Professors are vital members of the Texas A&M System family who bring with them unique skills and perspectives," said Cliff Thomas, chairman of The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents.  "These folks are integral to steering the System toward continued excellence.  With them at the helm, the universities and agencies under The Texas A&M System can only keep improving."

Dr. Brody's research focuses on coastal environmental planning, spatial analysis and flood mitigation and teaches graduate courses in environmental planning and sustainable/resilient coastal development.  He has published numerous scientific articles on flood risk and mitigation, and recently authored the book, "Rising Waters: The causes and consequences of flooding in the United States."

His multiple years of expertise in flood risk assessment and mitigation have led him to advise communities on the vulnerabilities of living along a coast.  He has also worked in both the public and private sectors to help coastal communities produce environmental and flood mitigation plans.

"The recently recognized professors and professionals represent the best of our great System and higher education in Texas," said John Sharp, Texas A&M System Chancellor.  "Their work consistently elevates Texas A&M System campuses and agencies."

Dr. Brody was recently awarded a prestigious Partnerships for International Research and Education (PIRE) $3.6 million grant by the National Science Foundation's Office of International Science and Engineering.  Under his leadership, the international team will conduct assessments, research and education activities focused on the physical flood risk characteristics, land use change, the built environment and mitigation techniques to reduce risk and vulnerability to damaging coastal floods.

Dr. Brody's work has been seminal in the development and design of the "Ike Dike" initiative - a coastal barrier that, when completed, would protect the Houston-Galveston region including Galveston Bay from hurricane storm surge.

"This designation as Regents Professor is a well-deserved recognition of expertise and of the impact of his research and mentorship of his students," said Dr. Douglas Palmer, Interim Chief Operations Officer at Texas A&M University at Galveston.  "Dr. Brody's work in protecting life and property in coastal communities is having far reaching affects throughout the nation and the world.  This is a high honor for Dr. Brody personally, for the Department of Marine Sciences and the entire Texas A&M Galveston family."

Dr. Brody is the twelfth member of the Texas A&M Galveston faculty to be recognized with this honor.  Members of the Texas A&M University at Galveston faculty who are past recipients of the Regents Professor Award include: Douglas J. Klein (2015-16), Jay Rooker (2014-15), John Schwarz (2012-13), Wyndylyn von Zharen (2011-12), Randall Davis (2010-11), Peter Santschi (2009-10), Vijay Panchang (2008-09), Gilbert Rowe (2007-08), Bernd Wursig (2006-07), William Seitz (2005-06) and Stephen Curley (2004-05).