Texas A&M Galveston Marine Science Professor Receives Prestigious Regents Professor Award    

KleinDouglas J. Klein, professor of Marine Sciences at Texas A&M University at Galveston was named a Regents Professor by The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents.

“These awards recognize and honor the exemplary accomplishments and contributions of our faculty, extension or research professionals,” said Cliff Thomas, chairman of The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents.  “This year’s recipients include experts in engineering, sociology, marine science, forage management and just about everything in between.  Though they vary in focus and location, all of them are vital members of the A&M System family.”

Dr. Klein teaches courses in foundational physics and chemistry as well as occasional special classes such as “Eco-environmental Modelling” and “Conjugated-Carbon Nano-Structures”.  The overall philosophy with each of these courses has been to teach students a fundamental understanding, beyond rote use of formulas and techniques.  Besides this, in conjunction with his research he has worked with (teaching) a variety of post-doctoral students.

The overall aim of his various areas of research is to understand better the chemical world around us.  His studies broadly encompass the interconnections between classical and quantum-theoretic descriptions of matter – sometimes with some novel mathematics.

This body of his research has resulted in nearly 400 articles as well as a co-editorship of a couple collections, and some co-organized meetings including: the “3rd International Conference on Mathematical Chemistry” held in Galveston and a session on “Conjugated-Carbon-Network Nano-structures” at the 2012 SE-SW Regional American Chemical Society Meeting in Baton Rouge.  His research for three decades has been externally supported, mainly by the Welch Foundation of Houston.

Dr. Klein has served on numerous departmental committees at Texas A&M Galveston and sometimes college-level committees at the main campus in College Station.  He has served as co-organizer for a Texas A&M Galveston/University of Houston Math-Sciences Seminar and has continued to co-organize the Math-Sciences Seminar series for the last several years at Texas A&M Galveston. “These individuals exemplify the commitment to excellence in research and service that sets A&M System employees apart,” said John Sharp, Chancellor of the Texas A&M System.  “Our System is made up of outstanding people who do incredible work on behalf of the people and the state of Texas.  I am grateful to all of them every day, and particularly to this group that really represents the best of the best.”

Established in 1996, the Regents Professor Award is bestowed annually by the Board of Regents in recognition of awardees’ exemplary contributions to their university or agency and to the people of Texas.  Award recipients are designated as Regents Professors for the duration of their service or employment within the A&M System.

They are provided a stipend over three consecutive years and receive a special medallion bearing the seal of the A&M System and a certificate signed by the Chancellor and the Chairman of the Board of Regents.

This designation as Regents Professor places Dr. Klein among those whose excellence in a variety of fields of expertise has earned them this recognition.  Klein is the eleventh member of the Texas A&M Galveston faculty to be recognized with this honor.

“Only the A&M System’s most prestigious faculty members are honored with this award,” said Rear Admiral Robert Smith III, Texas A&M University at Galveston.  “The selection of Dr. Klein is a high honor for him personally, for the department of Marine Sciences and the entire Texas A&M Galveston family.”

Members of the Texas A&M University at Galveston faculty who are past recipients of the Regents Professor Award include: Jay Rooker (2014-15) John Schwarz (2012-13), Wyndylyn von Zharen (2011-12), Randall Davis (2010-11), Peter Santschi (2009-10), Vijay Panchang (2008-09), Gilbert Rowe (2007-08), Bernd Wursig (2006-07), William Seitz (2005-06) and Stephen Curley (2004-05).