Texas A&M Galveston Marine Biology professor receives prestigious Regents Professor Award    

Rooker Dr. Jay Rooker, professor of Marine Biology and the McDaniel Chair of Marine Fisheries at Texas A&M University at Galveston was honored as a Regents Professor by The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents at their February meeting.

Rooker is an acknowledged international expert in the field of Marine Ecology conducting active and widespread research in fisheries ecology.  He has received approximately 4.4 million dollars in research funding during the past five years resulting in numerous peer-review publications, professional abstracts and research reports.  His papers have been in leading edge journals, including but not limited to such internationally recognized ones as Nature News and Science.  He has been in high demand as a speaker at numerous scientific conferences.

Rooker has had an active teaching and research career but he also engages in an astounding amount of service both for the university and for the community at large.  He is an active member of numerous campus committees, both inside and outside his department.  He also offers his research in projects outside of the campus where his expertise helps solve various issues.

This designation as Regents Professor places Rooker among those whose excellence in a variety of fields of expertise has earned them this recognition.  Rooker is the tenth member of the Texas A&M Galveston faculty to be recognized with this honor.

“Only the A&M System’s most prestigious faculty members are honored with this award,” said Rear Admiral Robert Smith III, chief executive officer of Texas A&M University at Galveston.  “The selection of Dr. Rooker is a high honor for him personally, for the department of Marine Biology and the entire Texas A&M Galveston family.”

Established in 1996, the Regents Professor Award is bestowed annually by the Board of Regents in recognition of awardees’ exemplary contributions to their university or agency and to the people of Texas.  Award recipients are designated as Regents Professors for the duration of their service or employment within the A&M System.

They are provided a stipend over three consecutive years and receive a special medallion bearing the seal of the A&M System and a certificate signed by the Chancellor and the Chairman of the Board of Regents.

Members of the Texas A&M University at Galveston faculty who are past recipients of the Regents Professor Award include: John Schwarz (2012-13), Wyndylyn von Zharen (2011-12), Randall Davis (2010-11), Peter Santschi (2009-10), Vijay Panchang (2008-09), Gilbert Rowe (2007-08), Bernd Wursig (2006-07), William Seitz (2005-06) and Stephen Curley (2004-05).