Research Advisory Council

The charge of the Research Advisory Council is to advise the Associate Vice President for Research Development on the development of the TAMUG research program, procedures for allocation of resources related to research and development of long-range plans for enhancing TAMUG’s research program, taking into account the wide range of funding sources, technologies, and expertise required to conduct a nationally-recognized research program.  To be eligible, faculty must have a funded extramural (non-TAMUG) research proposal submitted within 3 years prior to election, a peer-reviewed publication within the previous three years, and be willing to be an active member.  There are eight voting members (including the Chairman) plus two ex-officio members (Assoc. VP for Research and Graduate Studies and Sr. VP and Chief Academic Officer).  Terms are two years with a one-time renewal for a total of up to four years.  Representatives from Marine Biology (MARB) and Marine Sciences (MARS) are elected by their respective departments and other representatives (Maritime System Engineering and at large) are appointed.  Meetings are typically held in September, March and August with additional meetings called as needed.


Antonietta Quigg, Chairman




Karl Kaiser


FY14, FY15

Wes Highfield


FY13, FY14, FY15, FY16

Dave Wells


FY14, FY15

Anna Armitage


FY15, FY16

 Jens Figlus


FY15, FY16

Grace Wang

  At-large (MARA)

FY12, FY13, FY14, FY15

Tammy Holliday