I have received a citation
Texas A&M University at Galveston
Parking and Permit Information
To contact us:
The University does not register bicycles on Campus, however University members are encouraged to register bicycles with the Galveston Police Department.
The City of Galveston Ordinances requires registration of all bicycles operated in the city limits. Registering your bicycle also makes it easier to recover in the event it is stolen.
Bicycles may be registered at the Galveston Police Department Community Services Division at 54th and Winnie.
There is a $2 fee.
Check the Galveston Police Website for more information.
Texas State Bicycle Laws
Stipulations in the Texas Traffic Laws that bicyclists should be familiar with include:
Cyclists have all the rights and the duties that apply to drivers of vehicles. This statement includes stopping at signs and signals, yielding the right of way and obeying posted speed limits and one-way street signs.
No bicycle shall carry more persons at one time than the number for which it is designed.
A bicyclist moving below the speed of other traffic shall ride as near as practicable to the right curb or edge of the roadway, except when:
The person is overtaking and passing another vehicle going in the same direction;
The person is preparing to turn left at an intersection or onto a private road or driveway;
Conditions of the roadway, including fixed or moving objects or vehicles, pedestrians, animals, surface hazards or substandard lanes, make it unsafe to ride next to the right curb or edge of the roadway.
The person is operating a bicycle in an outside lane that is less than 14 feet in width and does not have a designated bicycle lane adjacent to that lane, or it is too narrow for a bicycle and a motor vehicle to safely travel side by side.
For night use, a bicycle shall have a lamp on the front with a white light visible from a stance of at least 500 feet to the front and with a red reflector on the rear that is of a type approved by the Department of Public Safety, and visible when directly in front of lawful upper beams of motor vehicle headlamps from all distances from 50 - 300 feet to the rear of the bicycle, or a lamp that emits a red light visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear of the bicycle.
Violation of the law is a misdemeanor offense and could result in a Justice of the Peace Citation.
Bicycle Theft & Safety
Bicycle Safety Tips
· Keep equipment in good repair, checking tires, spokes, brakes, pedals, and chains.
· Be sure bell or horn works properly.
· Be sure light is visible for 500 feet and reflector for 300 feet when riding at night.
· Obey all traffic signs and signals.
· Always give hand signals before turning.
· Yield to pedestrians at crossings or on sidewalks.
· Never race or play games on public streets.
· Wear a helmet for best protection.
Preventing Bike Theft
· Use a quality case-hardened steel U-bolt lock.
· Secure the bike at least through the frame and rear wheel to a bicycle rack.
· Engrave your driver’s license number on the frame of the bike.
· Report suspicious behavior around bicycles racks by calling 409-740-4545 or the appropriate police agency.
If Your Bike Is Stolen…
Report the theft immediately to the University Police Department at 409-740-4545 or to the appropriate police agency.