MART Faculty

roth

Capt. Augusta "Gussie" D. Roth, MBA

Department Head of Marine Transportation
Executive Director of STCW/Academics

Associate Professor of the Practice in Marine Transportation

Office: Kirkham Hall (Building 3001) Room 106
Hours: By Appointment
Email: rotha@tamug.edu
Office: 409-740-4471

BIOGRAPHY

Courses Taught:
Naval Architecture (MART 201)
The Navigator (MART 404)

Captain Putty

Captain Scott Putty
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Marine Transportation
puttys@tamug.edu 
(409) 740-4467

B.S. Marine Transportation, Texas A&M University, 1979. Master Oceans Unlimited; STCW 95- Endorsements: Master, Vessel Security Officer, Medical PIC, GMDSS. Sailed as Container Ship Master with Hapag Lloyd and Deck officer with Lyke’s Lines.

cleary

Captain James Cleary
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Marine Transportation
clearyj@tamug.edu

(409) 741-4031

B.S., Texas A&M University, 1980; M.A., American Public University, 2011. Master of Steam or Motor Vessels of Any Gross Tons upon Oceans; STCW 95- Endorsements: Master, Vessel Security Officer, Medical PIC, GMDSS.

Captain James Coonrod

Captain James Coonrod
Lecturer
coonrodj@tamug.edu
(409) 741-4088

B.S. Marine Transportation, Texas A&M University, 1967. Master 1600 Tons Oceans; Second Mate any Gross Tons Oceans; First Class Pilot, Galveston and Texas City. Retired Galveston-Texas City Pilot and Deck officer with G&H Towing.

jansen

Captain Jack Jansen
Lecturer
jansenj@tamug.edu
(409) 740-4581

B.S. Marine Transportation, Texas A&M University, 1998. Master of Steam and Motor Vessels of Any Gross Tons Upon Oceans; STCW 95- Endorsements: Master, Vessel Security Officer, Medical PIC, GMDSS.

luna

Amy Luna
Lecturer
lunaa@tamug.edu
(409) 740-4916

B.S. Marine Transportation, Texas A&M University, 2007. Second Mate of Steam and Motor Vessels of Any Gross Tons Upon Oceans; STCW 95- Endorsements: GMDSS, Tankerman PIC, Dangerous Liquid PIC, and Liquefied Gases PIC. Sailed as LNG Deck Officer.

mccright

Captain Michael McCright
Lecturer
mccrighm@tamug.edu
(409) 740-4882

B.S., Roger Williams University, 1994. Master of Steam and Motor Vessels of Any Gross Tons Upon Oceans; First Class Pilot, Houston Ship Channel and Port Hueneme; STCW 95- Endorsements: Master, Vessel Security Officer, Medical PIC, GMDSS, ECDIS, RADAR, DPA, SAFE Gulf, DP.

orange

Mr. Bill Orange
Lecturer
orangeb@tamug.edu
(409) 740-4886

B.S., Texas A&M University, 1991. Survival Craft, Fast Rescue Craft, Basic Safety Training, Marine Fire Basic Advanced and LNG Fire Fighting, Oil Spill and Safe Gulf instructor. Offshore Diver.

walling

Captain Herb Walling
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Marine Transportation
wallinh@tamug.edu
(409) 740-4583

B.S., Maine Maritime Academy, 1971; M.S., Maine Maritime Academy, 1987. Second Mate of Steam and Motor Vessels of Any Gross Tons Upon Oceans;  Master of Towing Upon Oceans; STCW 95, Officer in Charge of a Navigational Watch. Tug and Tow expert.



Staff

James Bacon

James "Jimmy" Bacon
Maritime Simulator Operations Coordinator
Maritime Transporation/ Bldg. 3002 / Room 108B
409-740-4772
Email:  baconj@tamug.edu
                                            

 

No photo

Donna Ferrer
Business Coordinator I
Kirkham Hall / Bldg. 3001 / Room 108
Office Hours:  8am – 4:00pm
409-740-4887
Email:  ferrerd@tamug.edu

Business Coordinator and Academic Advisor for
Marine Transportation / License Option program.