Aggie Ally

rainbowgigemsignAggie Ally

What is an Aggie Ally?

Aggie Allies include staff, faculty, and students at Texas A&M University at Galveston who have committed to providing a safe haven, listening ear, and support for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer or questioning (LGBTQ) people or anyone dealing with sexual orientation concerns. 


All Allies have attended a training workshop to learn about the benefits and responsibilities of being an Ally. Every Ally has signed an Allies contract and may display a placard outside their office or residence hall room to identify them as an Aggie Ally.

Who are Current TAMUG Aggie Allies?

The following Students, Staff and Faculty have committed to being an Aggie Ally:

Former and Current Students:

Katie Edwards, '13 Katie-Edwards@hotmail.com
Nick Mogie, '13
Omar Gallegos, '15 o.gallegos1@yahoo.com
Brandy Gibbs, '15 b.gibbs011@yahoo.com
Grace Goeldner, '15 gngoeldner@gmail.com
Emily Williams, '15 emmaleeyo@gmail.com
Patrick Chester, '16 mindlesslyfun@gmail.com
Shannon Nault, 16 shannon_nault@yahoo.com
James “Danger” Zaro, '16 jayzaro@gmail.com
Amanda Arrowood brie.arrow@gmail.com
Cody Carouthers
Sarah DeLeon
Felicity Johnson felicityjohnson@neo.tamu.edu
Zach Rivas
Alex Vazquez
Emily Williams
Selina Zalesak

Staff/Faculty:

Ken Bailey
Director, Counseling and Career Services
Seibel Student Services Center
Room 104D
409-740-4725
baileyk@tamug.edu
Carol Bunch-Davis
Assistant Professor
General Academics
CLB Room 106
409-740-4425
davisc@tamug.edu
Kenyatta Y. Dawson
Assistant Director, Diversity
Seibel Student Services Center
Room 101H
409-740-4582
dawsonk@tamug.edu
Shelly Fordyce
Associate Director, Student Life
Seibel Student Services Center
Room 101D
409-740-4427
fordyces@tamug.edu
Neil Golemo
Assistant Director, Residence Life
Pacific Hall, room 105
409-740-4469
golemon@tamug.edu
Joseph Hoff
Assistant Director, Recreational Sports
Seibel Student Services Center
Room 101F
409-740-4472
hoffj@tamug.edu
David Lawhon
Honors Program Director
Lecturer, General Academics
409-740-4948
lawhond@tamug.edu
Daisey McCloud
Assistant Director
Counseling and Career Services
Seibel Student Services Center
Room 104H
409-740-4537
mccloudd@tamug.edu 
Capt. Allan Post
Director, Waterfront Operations
Building 3003, Room 118
409-740-4477
posta@tamug.edu
Holly Richards
Sr. Academic Advisor
Research and Graduate Studies
OCSB 3029, Room 264
409-740-4957
richardh@tamug.edu
Danny Roe
Class of 2013
Financial Aid Officer
Sea Aggie Center
Room 911
409-741-4035
roed@tamug.edu
Dan.lee.roe@gmail.com
Todd Sutherland
Executive Director, Student Affairs
Seibel Student Services Center
Room 101G
409-740-4598
sutherlt@tamug.edu


 

How do I Become an Ally?

Ally training will take place on the Texas A&M University at Galveston campus periodically throughout the year. For dates, times, and further information please contact Dr. Kenyatta Y. Dawson at dawsonk@tamug.edu or 409-740-4582.

***Fall 2014 Aggie Ally Training is open to faculty, staff, and graduate students who are employed by TAMUG.***

*Spring Semester dates will be advertised for Aggie Ally Training for the general student population.*

Date Topic
Tuesday, October 14th, 2014 Why be an Ally? History and Terms (Manditory)
Tuesday, October 21st, 2014 Politics, Laws, and Popular Media & LGBTQ and Religious and Cultural Interpretations
Tuesday, October 28th, 2014 Coming Out & Emotional and Family Concerns
Tuesday, November 4th, 2014 Transgender 101
Tuesday, November 11th, 2014 Final Manditory Training with Lunch

 

The training will consist of four (4) 1-hour meetings and one final 2-hour meeting where a meal will be provided.

To become an “official” Aggie Ally, attendance is mandatory for the first meeting, at least one additional meeting of your choice, and the final 2 hour training meeting.

Meetings and topics that have been discussed in the past are below:
Session 1 – Why be an Ally? History and Terminology (Mandatory)
Session 2, 3, and 4 – Politics, Laws, and Popular Media, LGBTQ and Religious and Cultural Interpretations, Coming Out and Emotional and Family Concerns, Transgender 101
Session 5 – Final Mandatory Training

What Campus Organizations are Available for the LGBTQ Community?

The Gay-Straight Alliance student organization meets weekly on-campus. You may contact the organization at tamuggsa@yahoo.com or one of the staff co-advisors for more information.

aggieallybrownbag The Aggie Ally Brown Bag lunch group meets once a month from 12-1pm in LIB 115 to discuss relevant topics within the LGBT community. Current dates are as follows: September 30, October 21, and November 18.

What Resources are Available for Allies

All trained Allies will have the opportunity to participate in refresher trainings that will be scheduled at least once a semester. Additionally, there are events and programs throughout the year that ALL community members will be invited to attend to learn more about the LGBTQ community.

Gay, Lesbian, Bi-Sexual, Transgender Help

Prospective Students