Aggie Ally

Aggie Ally

What is an Aggie Ally?

Aggie Allies include staff, faculty, and students at Texas A&M University at Galveston who have committed to providing a safe haven, listening ear, and support for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer or questioning (LGBTQ) people or anyone dealing with sexual orientation concerns.

All Allies have attended a training workshop to learn about the benefits and responsibilities of being an Ally. Every Ally has signed an Allies contract and may display a placard outside their office or residence hall room to identify them as an Aggie Ally.

Who are Current TAMUG Aggie Allies?

The following Students, Staff and Faculty have committed to being an Aggie Ally:

Alumni:
Katie Edwards               Class of 2013              Katie-Edwards@hotmail.com
Nick Mogie                     Class of 2013                                     
 
Students:
Omar Gallegos                Class of 2015             o.gallegos1@yahoo.com
James “Danger” Zaro     Class of 2016             jayzaro@gmail.com
Emily Williams                Class of 2015             emmaleeyo@gmail.com
Shannon Nault                Class of 2016             shannon_nault@yahoo.com
Felicity Johnson                                                 felicityjohnson@neo.tamu.edu
Grace Goeldner             Class of 2015             gngoeldner@gmail.com
Brandy Gibbs                Class of 2015             b.gibbs011@yahoo.com
Patrick Chester             Class of 2016             mindlesslyfun@gmail.com
Amanda Arrowood                                           brie.arrow@gmail.com
Zach Rivas                                                                 
Cody Carouthers
Selina Zalesak
Emily Williams
Alex Vazquez
Sarah DeLeon

Staff/Faculty:

Ken Bailey
Director, Counseling and Career Services
Seibel Student Services Center
Room 104D
409-740-4725
baileyk@tamug.edu

Carol Bunch-Davis
Assistant Professor
General Academics
CLB Room 106
409-740-4425
davisc@tamug.edu

Kenyatta Y. Dawson
Assistant Director, Diversity
Seibel Student Services Center
Room 101H
409-740-4582
dawsonk@tamug.edu

Shelly Fordyce
Associate Director, Student Life
Seibel Student Services Center
Room 101D
409-740-4427
fordyces@tamug.edu

Neil Golemo
Assistant Director, Residence Life
Pacific Hall, room 105
409-740-4469
golemon@tamug.edu

Joseph Hoff
Assistant Director, Recreational Sports
Seibel Student Services Center
Room 101F
409-740-4472
hoffj@tamug.edu

David Lawhon
Honors Program Director
Lecturer, General Academics
409-740-4948
lawhond@tamug.edu
 
Daisey McCloud
Assistant Director
Counseling and Career Services
Seibel Student Services Center
Room 104H
409-740-4537
mccloudd@tamug.edu 

Capt. Allan Post
Director, Waterfront Operations
Building 3003, Room 118
409-740-4477
posta@tamug.edu

Holly Richards
Sr. Academic Advisor
Research and Graduate Studies
OCSB 3029, Room 264
409-740-4957
richardh@tamug.edu

Danny Roe
Class of 2013
Financial Aid Officer
Sea Aggie Center
Room 911
409-741-4035
roed@tamug.edu
Dan.lee.roe@gmail.com
 
Todd Sutherland
Executive Director, Student Affairs
Seibel Student Services Center
Room 101G
409-740-4598
sutherlt@tamug.edu

How do I Become an Ally?

Ally training will take place on the Texas A&M University at Galveston campus periodically throughout the year. For dates, times, and further information please contact Dr. Kenyatta Y. Dawson at dawsonk@tamug.edu or 409-740-4582.
 
The training will consist of four (4) 1-hour meetings and one final 2-hour meeting where a meal will be provided.

To become an “official” Aggie Ally, attendance is mandatory for the first meeting, at least one additional meeting of your choice, and the final 2 hour training meeting.

Meetings and topics that have been discussed in the past are below:
Session 1 – Why be an Ally? History and Terminology (Mandatory)
Session 2, 3, and 4 – Politics, Laws, and Popular Media, LGBTQ and Religious and Cultural Interpretations, Coming Out and Emotional and Family Concerns, Transgender 101
Session 5 – Final Mandatory Training

What Campus Organizations are Available for the LGBTQ Community?

The Gay-Straight Alliance student organization meets weekly on-campus. You may contact the organization at tamuggsa@yahoo.com or one of the staff co-advisors for more information.

What Resources are Available for Allies

All trained Allies will have the opportunity to participate in refresher trainings that will be scheduled at least once a semester. Additionally, there are events and programs throughout the year that ALL community members will be invited to attend to learn more about the LGBTQ community.

Gay, Lesbian, Bi-Sexual, Transgender Help