Gay, Lesbian, Bi-Sexual, Transgender Help

Aggie Ally

What is an Aggie Ally?

Aggie Allies include staff, faculty, and students at Texas A&M University at Galveston who have committed to providing a safe haven, listening ear, and support for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer or questioning (LGBTQ) people or anyone dealing with sexual orientation concerns. 

All Allies have attended a training workshop to learn about the benefits and responsibilities of being an Ally. Every Ally has signed an Allies contract and may display a placard outside their office or residence hall room to identify them as an Aggie Ally.

Who are Current TAMUG Aggie Allies?

The following Students, Staff and Faculty have committed to being an Aggie Ally:

Former and Current Students:

Katie Edwards, '13 Katie-Edwards@hotmail.com
Nick Mogie, '13
Omar Gallegos, '15 o.gallegos1@yahoo.com
Brandy Gibbs, '15 b.gibbs011@yahoo.com
Grace Goeldner, '15 gngoeldner@gmail.com
Emily Williams, '15 emmaleeyo@gmail.com
Patrick Chester, '16 mindlesslyfun@gmail.com
Shannon Nault, 16 shannon_nault@yahoo.com
James “Danger” Zaro, '16 jayzaro@gmail.com
Amanda Arrowood, '15 brie.arrow@gmail.com
Cody Carouthers, '14
Sarah DeLeon
Felicity Johnson, '14 felicityjohnson@neo.tamu.edu
Zach Rivas
Alex Vazquez
Emily Williams
Selina Zalesak, '14

How do I Become an Ally?

Ally training will take place on the Texas A&M University at Galveston campus periodically throughout the year. For dates, times, and further information please contact Mr. Danny Roe at roed@tamug.edu.

Staff & Faculty Workshops Topics
  • Why Become an Ally
  • Diversity in the Classroom
  • Inclusive Speech
  • Trans 101
  • Conclusion
Student Workshop Topics
  • Why Become an Ally
  • You CAN Even
  • Inclusive Speech
  • Trans 101
  • Conclusion

What Campus Organizations are Available for the LGBTQ Community?

The Gay-Straight Alliance student organization meets weekly on-campus. You may contact the organization at tamuggsa@yahoo.com or the staff advisor, Mr. Danny Roe at roed@tamug.edu for more information.

What Resources are Available for Allies

All trained Allies will have the opportunity to participate in refresher trainings that will be scheduled at least once a semester. Additionally, there are events and programs throughout the year that ALL community members will be invited to attend to learn more about the LGBTQ community.

Click Here to Access the Texas A&M Resource Center!

rainbowgigemsignAggie Ally

Current Aggie Ally Staff/Faculty:

Alyssa Adams
GA/TA, Graduate Student
Library Writing Lab
ajadams512@gmail.com
John Majdi
Library Specialist II
Jack K. Williams Library, Room 106
409-740-4566
majdij@tamug.edu
Ken Bailey
Director, Counseling and Career Services
Seibel Building, Room 104D
409-740-4725
baileyk@tamug.edu
Diane Manley
Student Development Specialist II, Counseling and Career Services
Seibel Building, Room 104F
409-740-4739
manleyd@tamug.edu
Amber Booth
Associate Director, Admissions and Records
Sea Aggie Center
409-740-4832
bootha@tamug.edu
Shana Marcon
GA/TA, Graduate Student
shana.macron@gmail.com
Carol Bunch-Davis
Assistant Professor, General Academics
CLB, Room 106
409-740-4425
davisc@tamug.edu
Monica Martens
Lecturer
PE, Room 118
409-740-4769
martensm@tamug.edu
Kenyatta Y. Dawson
Assistant Director For Diversity, Department of Student Affairs
Bld# 3030, Office 104J
(409) 740-4582
dawsonk@tamug.edu
Daisey McCloud
Assistant Director, Counseling and Career Services
Seibel Building, Room 104H
409-740-4537
mccloudd@tamug.edu
Tara Dean
Admissions Counselor
Sea Aggie Center, Room 912
409-740-4033
deant@tamug.edu
Laura McElfresh
Digital Initiatives Librarian
Library
409-740-7179
mcelfrel@tamug.edu
Derrick Ford
Assistant Director, Student Activities
Seibel Building, Room 101F
409-740-4557
fordd@tamug.edu
Meg McNulty
Bursar, Financial Management Services
Sea Aggie Center, Suite 810
409-740-4520
mcnultym@tamug.edu
Shelly Fordyce
Director, Student Activities
Seibel Building, Room 101D
409-740-4427
fordyces@tamug.edu
Laurissa Noack
Program Manager, Academic Enhancement Services
Atlantic Hall, Room 6110C
409-740-4340
noackl@tamug.edu
Ashley Garland
Admissions Counselor
Sea Aggie Center
409-740-4487
garlanda@tamug.edu
Capt. Allan Post
Director, Waterfront Operations
Building 3003, Room 118
409-740-4477
posta@tamug.edu
Jillian Gilmartin
GA/TA, Graduate Student
MARB
jgils90@tamu.edu
Holly Richards
Sr. Academic Advisor, Research and Graduate Studies
Sea Aggie Center, Room 300
409-740-4957
richardh@tamug.edu
Neil Golemo
Assistant Director, Residence Life
Pacific Hall, Room 5110A
409-740-4469
golemon@tamug.edu
Danny Roe
Student Development Specialist I, Student Activities
Seibel Building, Room 104M
409-741-4836
roed@tamug.edu
Dan.lee.roe@gmail.com
Joshua E. Goodson
Adjunct Faculty, General Academics
CLB, Room 103A
goodsonj@tamug.edu
Vanessa Salas
Clerk II, Budget and Finance
Powell Engineering Complex, Room 132
409-741-4806
salasva@tamug.edu
Branston G. Harris
Housing Coordinator
Pacific Hall, Room 5110B
409-740-4844
harrisb@tamug.edu
Megan Stockfleth
Academic Advisor I, Enrollment Services
Sea Aggie Center, Room 903
409-741-4033
stockflm@tamug.edu
Joseph Hoff
Assistant Director, Recreational Sports
McCloy Arena
409-740-4472
hoffj@tamug.edu
Todd Sutherland
Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs
Seibel Building, Room 101G
409-740-4598
sutherlt@tamug.edu
Courtney Ivy
Customer Service Associate, Records
Sea Aggie Center
409-740-4414
ivyc@tamug.edu
Michael Sweeney
Library Associate I
Jack K. Williams Library, Room 107
409-740-4564
sweeneym@tamug.edu
Nicole Kinslow
Director, Research and Graduate Studies
Sea Aggie Center, Room 300
409-740-4937
kinslown@tamug.edu
Mayen Udoetuk
Program Manager
Academic Enhancement
409-740-4341
udoetukm@tamug.edu
David Lawhon
Honors Program Director
Lecturer, General Academics
409-740-4948
lawhond@tamug.edu
Sarah West
Housing Coordinator
Pacific Hall, Room 5110D
409-740-4888
wests@tamug.edu
Christal Lewis
Financial Assistant II, Financial Management Services                                            
Sea Aggie Center, Room 810
409-740-4434
lewisc@tamug.edu
Kevin Winn
Technical Lab Coordinator
Marine Engineering Technology Dept.
409-740-4483
winnk@tamug.edu
Nick Zellmer
GA/TA, Graduate Student
MARB
ntzellmer@gmail.com