Marine Biology Faculty


Department Head

Jaime R. Alvarado-Bremer

Jaime R. Alvarado-Bremer

Interim Department Head
Associate Professor

alvaradj@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4958

 

Conservation and population genetics of pelagic fishes

Biography



Full Time Faculty Members


Anna R. Armitage

Anna R. Armitage

Associate Professor

armitaga@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4842

 

Coastal wetland ecology and restoration

Biography

Website




Elizabeth Borda

Elizabeth Borda

Lecturer

bordae@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4542

Systematics, phylogenetics and evolution of invertebrates, with special emphasis on fireworms and leeches.

Biography




Randall W. Davis

Randall W. Davis

Regents Professor

davisr@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4712

 

Comparative physiology and ecology of marine mammals and birds

Biography




Ron I. Eytan

Ron I. Eytan

Assistant Professor

eytanr@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4527

 

Population genetics, phylogenetics, and phylogeography of coral reef fishes

Biography

Website




Dr. David Hala

Dr. David Hala

Assistant Professor

halad@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4535

 

 

Environmental toxicology; metabolic and endocrine biomarkers; computational biology.

Biography




Christopher P. Hall

Christopher P. Hall

Lecturer and Lab Instructor

hallc@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 741-4954

 

Oyster biology and ecology; recruitment and parasite analysis

Biography



Thomas M. Iliffe

Thomas M. Iliffe

Professor

Iliffet@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4454

 

Marine cave ecology; technical diving

Biography

Website




Jessica Labonté

Jessica Labonté

Assistant Professor

labontej@tamug.edu
+1 (409) 740-4921
+1 (409) 740-5001 Fax

Bld# 3029, Office 267

Marine microbial ecology and evolution; Virus-host interactions.

Biography




Hui Liu

Hui Liu

Assistant Professor

liuh@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4716

 

Zooplankton population dynamics; quantitative fisheries research

Biography




Christopher D. Marshall

Christopher D. Marshall

Professor

marshalc@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4884

 

Functional and ecological morphology, biomechanics, conservation

Biography

Website




Maria Pia Miglietta

Maria Pia Miglietta

Assistant Professor

miglietm@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4458

 

Evolution, genomics, and ecology of Hydrozoa (Cnidaria)

Biography

Website




Orissa M. Moulton

Orissa M. Moulton

Instructional Assistant Professor

moultono@tamug.edu
+1 (409) 740-4413
+1 (409) 740-5001 Fax

Bldg. 3029, Office 249

 

Community ecology of coastal and nearshore ecosystems, marine phycology, microbial ecology, and nitrogen cycling

Biography




Dr. Lene Petersen

Dr. Lene Petersen

Instructional Assistant Professor

petersel@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4786

 

 

Fish cardiovascular physiology; fish reproduction; conservation physiology.

Biography




Antonietta S. Quigg

Antonietta S. Quigg

Professor - Assistant Department Head,
Associate VP for Research and Graduate Studies

quigga@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4990

 

Phytoplankton ecophysiology and stoichiometry, bioindicators

Biography

Website




Jay R. Rooker

Jay R. Rooker

Regents Professor

rookerj@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4744

 

Ecology of estuarine, coastal, and pelagic fishes

Biography

Website




Gilbert Rowe

Gilbert Rowe

Regents Professor

roweg@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4847

 

Benthic ecology, ecosystem function and structure, deep-sea biology

Biography




Anja Schulze

Anja Schulze

Associate Professor

schulzea@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4540

 

Evolution, biogeography and development of marine annelids

Biography

Website




John Schwarz

John Schwarz

Regents Professor

schwarzj@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4528

 

Seafood microbiology

Biography

Website




R. J. David Wells

R. J. David Wells

Associate Professor

wellsr@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4989

 

Biology and ecology of bony fishes, sharks, and rays

Biography

Website




Bernd Würsig

Bernd Würsig

Regents and University Distinguished Professor

wursigb@tamug.edu

+1 (409) 740-4413

 

Behavioral ecology of dolphins, porpoises, and whales

Biography

Website




Top Of Page