Council of Built Environment

Space Allocation Process

The Galveston Campus of Texas A&M University will use a transparent process of evaluation for any request of new space; construction, demolition, remodeling and renovation of existing space; request for art or campus features; and reallocation of space within units. Requests and evaluations for space allocation can be done under the following guiding principles:

  • The need should align with strategic and aspirational goals (e.g., Research Scholarship, Teaching, and Program Development)
  • Specific areas of performance that are aligned with strategic and aspirational goals will be heavily weighted in space allocation decisions (e.g., grants and contract activity, recruitment and retention of historically under-represented students, development and implementation of high impact and technology-mediated instructional activities, types of degree managed, mentorship of graduate students with appropriate time to degree)

Process for Selecting a Classroom to Renovate

Every year one classroom is selected to be renovated, with the goal to improve the learning and teaching experience for the students and faculty.  The link below outlines process that has been developed to select the classroom that has the highest need.  Historically the budget for these projects have been $35K per year.


Space Available after Phase 1 Relocation

Once the campus moves into new space in Phase 1 of the Academic Complex, a number of spaces around campus will open up. Council for Built Environment will begin hearing proposals for new uses of this space beginning February 20. When putting proposals together, please follow the guideline posted on the Administration & Auxiliary Service webpage at  www.tamug.edu/adminaux/Council/process.html. Drawings of the available space are available at the link below:

Proposals should be submitted to Cari Bishop-Smith no later than 2 business day prior to the requested presentation session. Presentations should not exceed 15 min.

The Council of Built Environment Committee Members

Co-Chairs:

Patrick Louchouarn, louchoup@tamug.edu

Grant W. Shallenberger, shalleng@tamug.edu

 

Members:

JoAnn DiGeorgio-Lutz, digeorgj@tamug.edu

Will Heidel, heidelw@tamug.edu

Gerald Hughes, hughesg@tamug.edu

John Kovacevich, kovacevi@tamug.edu

Donna Lang, langd@tamug.edu

Susan Lee, lees@tamug.edu

Allan Post, posta@tamug.edu

Antonietta Quigg, quigga@tamug.edu

John Schwarzschwarzj@tamug.edu

Todd Sutherland, sutherlt@tamug.edu

Grace Townsend, townseng@tamug.edu

Nicholas Wellbrock, nbwellbrock68@tamu.edu